Overclocking your CPU, How to do it easily!

Status
Not open for further replies.

99nasha

Fully Optimized
If you have questions about this guide, please PM me as well as replying in the thread!!!!

I have been asking and asking about overclocking my CPU in every place imaginable. It seemed that everyone could do it but me. So I'm going to write this brief guide into how to do. I'm not going to incredible depth because I find that complicates things and then you end up all confused. This is a basic guide, since i'm no expert at overclocking either.

Remember: DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK, overclocking your computer can damage it. But it's extremely hard to do this. Make sure you read it all before you try anything

I'm imagine those who are using this guide are already familiar with their computers, but if you have any problems, reply to this thread or PM me.

Let's start then!

Go into your bios by pressing F8 when you boot up your PC. If you have no idea what bios is, give up now.

I have a screen like this

SEE PIC 1

We have to understand a few things first. All your hardware in your PC in is linked to one clock, the FSB (front side bus) This is the thing that we use to overclock your PC. Now if you enter this screen I can explain more
k8n_bios3.jpg

Your CPU speed is the speed of your FSB x multiplier (your multiplier is defined with what CPU you have). So take my processor (AMD 3000+ multiplier at x9)

FSB 250mhz x multiplier 9= 2250

Now before you get all excited, and run off to blow your computer up, you need to understand the importance of RAM. I'm guessing that most of you have PC3200 ram.

PC 3200 = DDR400 = 200MHZ. This means the RAM is rated to run at 200MHZ . Now there's many wonderful ways to get your memory to run at faster speeds and thus allowing you to overclock your CPU even more, but frankly I haven't a clue how to do it and I can't be arsed to find out. So were just going to run the RAM at its rated speed.