MicroATX vs. ATX? Plus, Critique My New Build

firebird365

Beta member
I'm looking to build my first gaming computer and I have a couple questions about what to buy.

Here's what I'm looking at so far:

ASUS Black IDE CD Burner $23.50
Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB 7200RPM 8MG Cache $80.00
CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2x512) PC3200 RAM $76.25
ASPIRE ATX AS520W $59.99
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice $201.00
XFX Geforce 7800GT 256mb $299.00

TOTAL = $739.74

Now, I have a dilemma. I was thinking of going either with:

ABIT KN8 Ultra $99.99
ASPIRE X-Cruise Black Computer Case $69.00

or

BIOSTAR TForce MicroATX $75.00
ASPIRE X-QPack Black Computer Case $80.00

I previously had a laptop that I used for gaming while at friends' houses, and I would like to maintain some of the mobility that I had before, hence the MicroATX form factor in the second option. However, I wasn't really sure how the choice would impact the performance and reliability of my system; I've never built a computer before, so I'd like to minimize the problems that I could encounter (or cause myself :D).

So, first of all, what do you think of my choices for parts? I'm not really going to be doing anything except gaming and schoolwork on this machine, but I'd like to keep it around $900ish. Second, will the MicroATX mobo and case affect any aspects of the system in a problematic way? Once again, I'm not looking for absolute extreme performance (I will not be doing any overclocking) but rather a blend of performance and reliability.

On a different note, I'd like to purchase a new monitor in addition to the system (I figure if I'm blowing my cash on a 7800GT, I shouldn't cage it in my puny 15" monitor :p). I was looking at this 19-incher, but would the price gap be enough to justify taking it over a 17"? I was hoping to keep the system cost around $1100, but I am already going over with the monitor...

Anyway, thanks in advance for your thoughts!