Compter For College

Vurnakes

Baseband Member
Hello to all, I have several questions but they all pertain to computers with college. I am about to go off to college in a few months and I am interested in buying a new computer. First of all, is it best to have a laptop or desktop? I am majoring in Biology and will more than likely go on to Med School. I would like a nice computer that could last that long. Besides school, I use computers for games like Battlefield 2 and others, music, and basic recording of my band. I currently have a laptop and desktop (both dell) that I have inherrited from my dad. Both aren't great but are ok for basic stuff (Im having to upgrade to 512kg ram for the music recording). Basically, what computer should I get. Anyone with similar college expierence, please help me out. With all the other thousands of decisions I have to make, its nice to have all of yall's advice in this matter. Thank you.

Welcome to the forum! You will always get more computer for your money with a desktop rather than a laptop, so you have to decide if you really need a laptop. It's easier to upgrade a desktop also. You seem to do some gaming, so I would go with a decent graphics card, and maybe about 1 gig of memory. Many folks on here prefer AMD to Intel as far as a processor goes for gaming also.

You can always buy a new Dell system or better yet build your own PC. You can never have too good of a PC when you go to college. Get the best you can afford, which is how much?