Ati radeon x800? or Nvidia geforce 6800?

Is he going for pci ex. or agp? Because if pci ex., screw both of them and go for an x1600xl. Or even a x1800xl if you can get it. If agp, then, by far, the 6800gt if you can manage to find one. Then, a gs then.

BigLu said:
My X800 is amazing, I recommend it, I have no experience wiht the 6800, I do have to say that I like nvidia drivers better, and they just released teh new drivers that increase performance of their cards 20%

My x800GTO is amazing too, and I do have experience with 6800's. The x800 is better performing in most games, and does exceptionally well in games that require AA and AF. The 6800 might win in Doom 3 because of the shaders, but in action games like FPS games, the x800 is a better choice.

HRHunteRHR said:
My x800GTO is amazing too, and I do have experience with 6800's. The x800 is better performing in most games, and does exceptionally well in games that require AA and AF. The 6800 might win in Doom 3 because of the shaders, but in action games like FPS games, the x800 is a better choice.

I have to agree, I've got 2 Computers both with similar specs, one has the X800XL and the other has the 6800-GS. Gaming wise the X800XL on BF2, Quake 4 & FEAR can run at full detail without a problem. The 6800-GS however runs BF2 on medium and struggles on high, but runs Quake 4 and FEAR ok (slighty lower fps) on high detail.

So, my personal testing shows the X800XL just in front.

BullDog(UK)

BullDog(UK) said:
I have to agree, I've got 2 Computers both with similar specs, one has the X800XL and the other has the 6800-GS. Gaming wise the X800XL on BF2, Quake 4 & FEAR can run at full detail without a problem. The 6800-GS however runs BF2 on medium and struggles on high, but runs Quake 4 and FEAR ok (slighty lower fps) on high detail.

So, my personal testing shows the X800XL just in front.

BullDog(UK)