Zipped Files & Viruses

Legion Kreinak

In Runtime
Is it true that if a file remains zipped, even if it contains a virus, you can't get it?

Can a person get viruses just from surfing the net, without downloading anything?

Also, if you had/have viruses, and you wanna transfer MP3s (just an example) over to a new computer, should you do it, or can they attach to music files as well? I would think simply scanning the files you wish to transfer would suffice, but I'm not an expert at this, so... :eek:

You can get a Viruses anyway possible. Even while surfing the net. If there is are holes in software, there are hackers to, well, exploit them.

I'm not sure about the zipped file question though.

Not sure about the zipped files.
But u can get viruses by just being connected to the internet, without doing anything.
And to answer the 3rd question I have never encountered a virus that attaches itself to music files etc. Usually the viruses are located in the windows folder.
And a few times I have saved some files to an external hdd then reformatted (because of a virus) and then taken the files to my hdd from the external one.
And no viruses came with them.

I don't think you can get a virus from a zipped folder. Because when you download (I think it is zipped files over msn) it says once you open it you could get virus if 1 is contained but not before.

How can you get a virus just from being connected to the internet? Is it likely to happen, or just a technical possibility?

it is likely. The infomation from the internet which is sent via the modem can carry virus. Without any protecting you are 99% to get them from the internet.

That's far from comforting. Is there any superior anti-virus program? Firewall? I wanna make sure that, once I get a new computer, I can protect myself from harm.