OverClocking A Dell

GreySteelFox

In Runtime
Ive heard from everyone that you can't OC a Dell. Is there any way to unlock the Bios and be able to do it. I push everything to the limit on my PC and i want to OC this 2.4. If I cant then i'll be forced to go buy a 2.8 for $200 and still wont be able to OC it! :mad:

Nope. If the BIOS is locked, which they do with all Dell computers, then it's impossible to bypass it. They do it because overclocking voids warranties, although some companies like Alienware and Falcon Northwest are hardcore enough to let you overclock their systems all you want. Especially Falcon Northwest. ;)

Good question. Ask Alvino. Or Jac006. Because i dont know. But, i was told it can be done.

If people near me could give me their Dells, since they suck soooo much, I'd investigate on Ocing, Flashing and Unlocking BIOS. In a formal way, there is usually jumpers

Yeah, I think you can just reset your CMOS...I'm not too good with flashing and unlocking BIOS's, so don't take my word for it.

well it sounds like we need a dell for testing and experimenting. well you cant have mine until i build my new PC in the future. but when i do have my new Dell-Killer built I or yall can do what ever you want with mine! :D

does it have to be a good one? Because i have a few old shitty dells. i mean like a p3., and maybe a p.2. And then an old old p.1 gateway.. ill sell them to ya. FOR CHEAP! Id give the damn things away, but there not mine.. so they would have to be sold..

Try this:
[font=Times New Roman, Times, serif] BIOSes on older machines sometimes need to be updated because they limit the size of a hard drive. [/font]

[font=Times New Roman, Times, serif] In you're lucky enough to have a machine with a flash BIOS chip, upgrading the BIOS is as simple as running an upgrade program that can be obtained from your motherboard manufacturer. [/font]