Network Engineering?

Ok, I'm kind of debating what I should do after high school. So far I have a few things that I want to do...

A) Join the Army
B)Go to College and take computer affiliated classes

Only thing is, I have NO idea what I would do with computers and what not. I was reading a book about Network Engineers and it was pretty cool with the VPNs WANs and LANs and all that good stuff. But what does the position really do?

Basically, what can a network engineer do? Does he hook up the cables and enable networks, is he the admin, what exactly can and does he do. If there's anyone who really knows about networking and what kind of high paying jobs titles there are with networking, that would be awesome. Thanks in advance.

heya! im a network engineer/administrator!! perhaps i can help you!

an engineer basically sets up the networks.installs the pcs, its more a hardware side of networking. A network administrator is in charge of making sure the network is up and running, like users can log on, info is available, giving users permissions, creating group policies etc etc

thats basically the difference. the jobs are high paying if your in a good company ;)

i wanna be a Geek Squad member. all they do is basically go to peoples house and fix their computer and setting up a network and those kinda of stuff.

Natalya said:
heya! im a network engineer/administrator!! perhaps i can help you!

an engineer basically sets up the networks.installs the pcs, its more a hardware side of networking. A network administrator is in charge of making sure the network is up and running, like users can log on, info is available, giving users permissions, creating group policies etc etc

thats basically the difference. the jobs are high paying if your in a good company ;)