Linux Question

Nexius

Solid State Member
Aight everyone! Got a linux question for ya! I'm building a new computer and I'm going to be using linux as the OS. Ive never used it so obviously I'm new to it, so my question is can you run most windows based programs on linux? I heard you could, i just wanted to make sure. So, thanks in advance for your help!

Satori said:

The correct answer would be, depends on if you want to be spending your spring break on it (like I did with trying to get a no-steam counter-strike 1.5 Extreme Edition installed). :p I was up for 4 nights with no success.... I was even using the best of the best, the Cedega transgaming utility, which unfortunaetly is still charging us. After my father died a few months ago, I told my mom to leave the 15 dollars a month fee on her card because it was going to the Open Source community, dad liked that.

You can't run basic windows apps, however you CAN run apps that are like 10 times better than windows apps. For the best media-based instalation that also takes hold of the 64 bit technology, go to www.gentoo.org and burn yourself a disk of the latest OS and prepare for a test of your hacking abilities. If you want to stick with the easy stuff, go and either download or buy a distrobution of SuSE.... Google it, www.google.com, I'm too lazy to give you the links. :p

Lol thanks guys! What about games and stuff? Like MMORPG's, cause those are my favorite things to do, can I still play those? Cause there .exe files so.

I don't get why people would even want to run Windows programs on linux. Is it really that hard to dual boot? God, it seems to me some people just like causing themselves headaches.

Satori said:
I don't get why people would even want to run Windows programs on linux. Is it really that hard to dual boot? God, it seems to me some people just like causing themselves headaches.