3.8 or Dual Core 3.2?

palladin the II

Baseband Member
I really want to go Intel. HAving said that, do I go 3.8 GHZ with HT or do I go 3.2 GHZ with dual core processing? its drivin me nuts.....i mainly want to surf, download and listen to music, edit movies using the LATEST software and play strategy games (EEII, AOEIII).....

Well, I'm no computer engineer, but it seems to me like you have no need for a dual core processor, unless you have all those programs open at once (even then I'm not sure)

So, in my opinion, get the 3.8.

However, I'd wait awhile for someone who knows what they are talking about posts...

palladin the II said:
I really want to go Intel. HAving said that, do I go 3.8 GHZ with HT or do I go 3.2 GHZ with dual core processing? its drivin me nuts.....i mainly want to surf, download and listen to music, edit movies using the LATEST software and play strategy games (EEII, AOEIII).....

if i were you i would go with the 3.8ghz processor with HT because i have it
(sig), and it kicks ass because its like having two processors, just one is logical and the other is physical. its almost like a 6.0ghz clock speed but not really. i dont know how to explain it, just that becase its like haivng two processors, the computer divides the work up among them and they get the job done in half the time. so yeah that is what i think. and i if was in ur situation id definelty go with the 3.8

An Intel dual-core processor-based PC will enable new computing experiences as it delivers value by providing additional computing resources that expand the PC's capabilities in the form of higher throughput and simultaneous computing. Imagine that a dual-core processor is like a four-lane highway — it can handle up to twice as many cars as its two-lane predecessor without making each car drive twice as fast. Similarly, with an Intel dual-core processor-based PC, people can perform multiple tasks such as downloading music and gaming simultaneously.