Poll?

catalyst1

BSOD
Alright, I don't visit this particular forum much here on CF, but now that I'm building a site, now's probably a good time to start. Anyway, my abilities with languages like HTML and PHP are sketchy at best. Dreamweaver makes it pretty easy, but I've found that to do anything more advanced than some text and images, you still need to know a bit of code.

So for right now, I need to know how to make a basic poll. I'm happy with using form objects, but if you have something better, feel free to tell me. I'm guessing I either have to use a data file or a database to keep track of votes. If a database is needed, I'd need that explained to me as well since I've had little experience with them. (Referring me to another thread for that would be fine if a good one already exists.) Also, I would like to limit users to one vote by IP address. Like I said, I'm not good at web languages, so please explain any code. Also, I know I should have searched for this topic on the forum, but I wanted to get some personalized responses. Thanks guys!

P.S. If you guys know any super good web design tutorial sites, please let me know! (I don't want anything like "Stacy's Killer Website Page" that shows you how to make hearts float down the screen or any crap like that. I want serious stuff.)

I suppose that making polls can be divided into two sections,

the first ismost likely the proper way to do it,

You'll need PHP, and a database, (html forms obviously), and it's nice to have a host that supports the gd toolsso that you can draw bar charts...

however, if you only want to store and return numbers, then it's not important to have a database, or graphical imaging tools on the server.

are you looking to create a poll like can be found on these forums? where a member of the public can create a poll with any amounts of options and have nice bar charts drawn, or are you thinking that you want to ba able to create the polls yourself in a messy backend way?