Computer becoming slow...must.. OVERCLOCK!

Zaki

Daemon Poster
hi i have a pentium4 2.4 Ghz Northwood processor running on an asus p4c800 e deluxe board, with one gig of crucial ddr ram. I have like four virus scans running all the time, and the computer is becoming slower than it should be. So my question is how do i OC a CPU? i am a complete beginner when it comes to ocing but i know my hardware otherwise. So any tips, tutorials, how-tos would really be appreciated. thanks!

btw: has anybody here noticed their computer become slow after installing ad-aware se professional?

"I have like four virus scans running all the time, and the computer is becoming slower than it should be"

Its not built to multitask. Turn off some of the scanning. You don't need that many.

I'm sorry, I can't help with overclocking though. I've wanted to do it to my CPU, yet my stock heatsink and fan won't take it... goes straight to 60+ degrees C if I overclock even slightly while doing something that takes omph.

well. to overclock basically you go in to the BIOS of your computer and raise the FSB (front side bus) speed and the multiplier. But, you need to know what brand of ram you have so you know how much you can overclock accordingly. for example, if you have something like corsair value ram, which is very good ram, it just doesn't allow you to overclock much because it's not low latency ram. If you want to get a stable overclock you have to have overclocking ram or else your computer will be unstable and crashing all the time.