Need Linux!

What do you mean ? RPM is automated, but if you download something called a 'tarball', you need to compile the program yourself from the shell ... don't exactly follow you l3337DuD3

Alright, so I got the 4 .iso images burnt on a CD-R each. For one, how can I check to see if they burnt on there correctly, just pop it in my cd drive? Second of all, will I need windows installed on my other computer if I want to install/use linux? And I'm completely new to Linux, I just read that this RPM is like a .exe, so how does all of this work?

MarxSoccer said:
Alright, so I got the 4 .iso images burnt on a CD-R each. For one, how can I check to see if they burnt on there correctly, just pop it in my cd drive?

yeah I would just put the CD in the drive and try to boot from it, alternatively you can check the md5 of the CD.

MarxSoccer said:
Second of all, will I need windows installed on my other computer if I want to install/use linux? And I'm completely new to Linux, I just read that this RPM is like a .exe, so how does all of this work?

GNU/Linux is completely independent of Windows, GNU/Linux is an OS, you don't need another OS such as Windows to run GNU/Linux. RPM is a package manager popularized by Red Hat, and has been adopted by other Linux distributions. I suppose you could think of RPM as a .exe equivalent, but there are other package systems other than RPM such as DEB or tgz. I haven't used RPM in a long time, but if I remember right you can install RPM packages from the command line with rpm -i /path/to/file

Most likely as a Linux/*nix user you will have to eventually install a piece of software from source, which is rather easy. You should always read the read me files that come with the software, as they may provide installation directions. With that said, here is the typical procedure you can take to compile your own software from source in Linux.

Code:
cd /path/to/source/code/
Code:
./configure
Code:
make
Code:
make install

x0r515t said: