Computer - is this a good build? - what motherboard should i use?

MythrilBehemoth

Beta member
CPU – Intel Pentium 4 551 3.40GHz

Memory – 2GB Corsair TWINX-3200C2 DDR RAM Optimised Pair

Video Card – Leadtek nVidia GeForce PX6600TD PCI-Express x16 256MB

DVD Burner – Pioneer Internal IDE (DVR – 109)

HDD – 250GB Western Digital 7200rpm 16mb SATA II

I have no idea of what mother board to get, and this is my first time building a computer. is this all that needs to be inside the case? A quick reply is needed as im starting to purchase these items and attempting to build this computer in the next few days. Thanks.

PS: An email to me would be quicker in case i forget to check the forums.

I have two issues with your build. Firstly, I wouldn't recommend using a P4 at the moment. Intel has just anounced their new chip which will be with us next year and looks like it will be comfortably the best chip available. As it is, I would build around a cheap AMD 64 chip for now before upgrading later- a good motherboard would be anything from the Asus A8N line as they're cheap and perform well. AMD generally perform better then P4's.

My other issue is your graphics card, as the 6600gt is getting on and will struggle a lot when games such as F.E.A.R. come out. If you are interested in gaming, I would suggest getting some cheaper ram (not neccessarily less) and spending the excess on a 7800gt.

Lastly, if you still want to get the P4 (they are still the best at video encoding), make sure you get a board based around the 945 or 955 chip- they offer better performance and upgradability. Older 915 motherboards are cheaper but not as good.

Gigabyte 8I945P Pro Pentium 4 Socket LGA775 FSB1066 PCI-Express Mainboard

Would this be a suitible M-Board? also, would i need a different m-board if i get the Pentium D 830 instead? the vid card isnt a problem because this is my sisters computer, she doesnt play games.