Epson R200 Installation Problems

BumblesCrew

Solid State Member
Hi!

Iv had this printer for a few weeks now and im at my wits end trying to get it installed.

I have contacted Epson but they just sent me the latest driver but it did`nt help.I install the latest driver & then connect the printer. The PC then detects the printer and brings up the installation wizard and prompts me to insert the disc that came with the printer & i do so. It scans the CD for about 10 - 15 secs as if its installing the software and then comes up with the following error everytime

"An error occurred during the installation of the device"

"The required section was not found in the INF"

The system im running is as follows

Windows XP Pro Service Pack 2

AMD Athlon XP 2000+

1.67GHz 256 Of Ram

Could someone please help me out as i don`t know what else to do as Eposn can`t help me & this is my first printer so im no expert myself.

Any help atall would be much appreicated.

Cheers!

Ricky.

if you go to start, control panel, system, hardware, device manager, are there any yellow exclamation marks showing?
woz

Hi!

Thanks a million for your reply.

No there are`nt any yellow exclamation marks showing. I know the one`s you mean i seen them before when i was having trouble intalling my Broadband modem.

When i run the driver setup that Epson sent me when i get to the point in the installation where it searchs for the printer to set the port it can never find it so i just bypass that bit and continue on. Then i plug in the printer and follow what the wizard says and put the installer CD that came with the printer in and get the error that i mentioned in the first post.

it sounds like there are a few usb issues with this printer! did you read through this item yet?
it may be what is causing the problem.
How do I resolve USB issues with VIA / VIATECH controllers?

FileID: KB020090EN

Listed below are various solutions to cure USB connectivity issues with the mentioned USB controller.