weird lockup problem

shouup

In Runtime
I just got done swapping a GeForce MX4000 into my friends computer as well as putting a stick or 256MB ram, 350 watt power supply, and new hard drive and have ran into a couple snags. It runs completely fine when hooked up to my monitor, but when hooked up to a Dell LCD the mouse and keyboard seem to randomly lock up and not respond (the rest of the computer does its thing though). I originaly thought it was his mouse and keyboard because the computer was harmed pretty badly in a lightning storm, but i brought the keyboard and mouse back to my house and its been running fine...the only thing diferent is that i have a Samsun SyncMaster 19" CRT and he has a Dell LCD. Another thing i noticed is that the resolution with his monitor will only go up to 1024x768 where as mine will go up to 1792x1344. Any suggestions as to why his monitor would respond like that?

LCD's you'll find have an optimum resolution, and if pushed away from that (1024x768 for this), it stretches the image, and pixels change size because these monitors work in a different way so if the driver is then set in the display properties for this specific monitor, it won't let you go higher than the default rate the monitor was set to do which is why you can't change it.

As for the mouse and keyboard not working, are you sure its the monitor causing it, and not the fact that something is wrong with the ports?
If they work on your PC and don't on your friends, i'd suggest something wrong with them, as I doubt the monitor could do anything to it.

One thing to try is to take your keyboard and mouse from your computer and try them on your mates. Do these then work on the computer or not?

You could try re-installing Windows which might fix a few problems your mate might have, and coud also fix this problem which would be the next step. If this doesn't fix it because of driver issues, I'd suggest the ports.

I hope this helps :)