CPU Question!

Smety

Baseband Member
Hey guys, thank god I have found a place where smarter people than me can solve my problems!

Well I have 2 questions about my Intel P4 CPU 1.6 GHz's

BTW it can support HT technology . . .

First question, it says hyper threading is disabled on this system thing I looked at, how can I enable it?

And second, is there any not super confusing way I could overclock my processor?!

And yes im upgrading my processor soon, thats why I need to bare with it for now :(

Thanks mates!

I think HyperThreading is hardware enabled...so I'm not sure if you can enable it at all. Check your BIOS and see if you can.

Also, if you're going to overclock a Pentium 4 that runs at 1.6ghz, don't even bother overclocking it. You won't noticed much difference anyways...you'll just end up shortening the life of the processor itself.

What are BIOS im a noob :/

And yeah I kinda figured OC'ing a 1.6 wouldnt be worth it, but I just have to wait till around christmas, and for the games im playing right now im gonna notice a little difference, but thank god im upgrading, but yeah if you know how, a quick lil lesson would be great!

But thanks for the info mate!

Oh ok. Is your current computer a custom built one? Or is it from Dell, HP, Compaq, or some company that pre-builds them?

If you have a Dell or whatnot, then I'm afraid it's gonna be hard, because most pre-built companies block access to the BIOS. Mind you, overclocking usually voids warranties, so they block access for a reason.

Smety said:
Hey guys, thank god I have found a place where smarter people than me can solve my problems!

Well I have 2 questions about my Intel P4 CPU 1.6 GHz's

BTW it can support HT technology . . .

First question, it says hyper threading is disabled on this system thing I looked at, how can I enable it?

And second, is there any not super confusing way I could overclock my processor?!