sound problems (only receiving rear sound)

rapmaticfiend

Solid State Member
I just build a computer using an epox EP-9NPA+ultra motherboard. I installed the drivers that came with the mother board. The problem is that only the rear sound works.

Currently I have a speaker setup with 4 speakers and a sub. When I go into the realtek sound manager program that came with the mobo drivers cd, it comfirms that I am only getting sound from the rear speakers.

I have made sure to plug the green audio cable into its matching green plug on the back of the motherboard. I have also tried disconnectiong my speaker setup and using headphones. Either way I only get the rear sound.

I am new at building computers, so I may have missed a simple solution. I have not messed with the jumpers for audio at all....

If anyone has any ideas, please share them! It would be a great help.

Thanks

did you make sure that in the options you have it set to 4.1?, maybe you just have it set to 2.1. does the sub work?
also, there should be seperate plugs for front and rear channels, so make sure you have the rear speakers plugged into the rear output, and the front speakers plugged into the front output

I have set the audio to 4 speaker setup in the realtek sound manager. I have also tried setting it at every other options that it allows me. (It doesn't have an option for 4.1)

This program has a speaker tester where u can click on the various speakers to see which are working. So with the 4 speaker setup selected, there is a picture with 4 speakers. The only speakers that produce sound are the 2 rear ones. Just as a test, I have selected different speaker setups. I have tried a 6 speaker setup and a 8 speaker setup using the same realtek sound manager software. In each of these tests, only the 2 rear speakers worked when clicking on them.

I tested the 2 speaker setup and neither speaker worked.