CD Burner

firedude78

Solid State Member
I know this may sound silly to most on here, but I am new to the CD drives and need your help. I installed a Internal CD-RW Drive. I saved some data from Excel on a CD-RW disc. I added items to the Excel spreadsheet and went to save it again on the same disc. I received a message that said I counld not save the data since it was Read only. Is the Read or Write capability of a CD determined when it is formatted? I am stumped as to how to get the data saved. Any help would be appreciated and Please do not laugh too hard. Thanks.

A cdrw disc can be burned once then when you want to save something else to it you basically write over the whole disc again.

by the way it sounds like you are trying to save directly from excel onto the disc. you must save the file in my doccuments or something then find it, right click and send to cdrw drive. then a box will appear asking if you want to burn files to a disc.

remember that ifyou re burn the disc you will loose whats allready on there

What Burning program do you use?
I use Nero Burning Rom, if you have CD-RW, you could create a multisession, so you'll be able to add files on already burned CD.
If there is no multissesion you have to format your CDRW and burn again.

I don't think you can save your data that way like a floppy or flash memory can. You'll have to burn the whole document over to the CD again instead of modifying the original document. In my opinion, CDs are good for mass storage, but not homework, lol. I use my thumb drive or SD card. I've got one of those built in flash memory readers than can read pretty much any type of flash memory available. So neat to have. I can get pictures directly off of my digital camera without using the USB data transfer, or get access to the PDA without using the cradle.

You can use it in open (multi)session without closing the disc...but you can't change the information on the disc once it is placed there.