Windows 95

DoubleJ$

Baseband Member
i currently have windows 95 installed as my os on my comp. Can i directly upgrade to windows 2000 or do i need to go to windows 98 first? Also for the system requirements for windows 2000 it says you need 64 mb of ram and i have 48. Will this 16 mb i lack make a huge impact on my performance or will i be able to get by? thanks for responding if you can.....

I think you have to have at least 64mb for it to even install. i'm pritty sure 2000 was just an upgrade so i think you would have to have 98 installed first.

Lets work on it slowly.
I have to assume you don't have a lot of money and want the best with what you have.
You do have a very ancient but useable pc depending on what you want it to do.
So what is that :

true true this comp is ancient but it is a second comp and im just having fun experimenting and learnging about computers. I am still learning about comps but i know more than average. i just want to be able to store music using limewire and maybe a couple basic games like starcraft....and well yes, i do not have much money and i am trying to do my best so i have windows 98 se and windows 2000 ready to install on disks. Can i use one of those or do i have to start with windows 98 first edition?

DoubleJ$ said:
true true this comp is ancient but it is a second comp and im just having fun experimenting and learnging about computers. I am still learning about comps but i know more than average. i just want to be able to store music using limewire and maybe a couple basic games like starcraft....and well yes, i do not have much money and i am trying to do my best so i have windows 98 se and windows 2000 ready to install on disks. Can i use one of those or do i have to start with windows 98 first edition?
Well the most important thing is matching components,wether it be ram needed or a place to plug it in.
Also what fits your case or mbb slots.
Your on the right track,go slow and learn,i hope you'll trust this old guy.