Which computer to buy?

sandman6

Solid State Member
What's up people? I hope you guys can help me out. I'm looking to purchase a laptop or workstation mainly for gaming, music, movies, and internet surfing. I'm not an expert nor a novice but I figured this is the place to go for advice. I'm looking to have one custom built (is that a good idea?) and have looked into the Alienware Area 51 7700 workstation all tricked out. Is it a good computer or should I get something else? Thanx.

well if you dont know how to build your own its better but if you do you i would say build your own

sandman6 said:
What's up people? I hope you guys can help me out. I'm looking to purchase a laptop or workstation mainly for gaming, music, movies, and internet surfing. I'm not an expert nor a novice but I figured this is the place to go for advice. I'm looking to have one custom built (is that a good idea?) and have looked into the Alienware Area 51 7700 workstation all tricked out. Is it a good computer or should I get something else? Thanx.

Wow, Alienware? Looks like you're willing to spend a huge amount of money. Well in that case, let's custom build your PC.

Thanks for the reply. I'm looking to spend about $2,500 - $3,000. I wish I did know how to build my own, but I don't know enough at this point to build one. Since my last post I looked into and am now leaning towards the Dell Inspiron GPX Generation 2 Workstation: Intel Pentium 4 770 processor, 1GB of 533 mhz ddr2 sdram 80 gb @7,200 RPM,NVIDIA GeForce 6800 256mb. I figured Dell is more reliable than Alienware and was pleasantly surprised that Dell made a computer with this much power. It seems the more research I do the more confused I get. But I think this the one (and it looks good too). http://www1.us.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.aspx/inspn_xps2?c=us&cs=19&l=en&s=dhs&~ck=mn Check it out. Thanks for your replys.