Gallery: Your Workstation SPLIT

Re: Gallery: Your workstation

Giancarlo said:
I'll have to disagree. My BFG FX5900 has been reved up to do so. Yes it may not perform as good as the 9800XT on dynamic lighting effects, but it is more then adequate. The 9800XT is practically horrible in every other respect. My FX5900 is pushed to FX5950U speeds. I give the FX5900-5950U the edge over ATI for practical reasons. Why would I look into a 6800GT? I'm a poor student. ;) And this card will last me more then enough time. I play Doom 3 on it just fine. Good frame rates. Not the best, but I listen to mainly music on this computer moreso then games (that's why I got the Klipsch-killer Logitech Z-5500.

Well you have to admit that the FX series' architecture is starting to become obsolete. After all they are pretty old cards. If you can't afford the 6800's, go with the 6600's. They really give you your bang for your buck.

yup im getting 8751 3dmark03 score and the cpu is still running very cool and teh video temp is idle 46. the 6600gt's rule

Lets not talk about former members please.

alvino said:
Well you have to admit that the FX series' architecture is starting to become obsolete. After all they are pretty old cards. If you can't afford the 6800's, go with the 6600's. They really give you your bang for your buck.

It is not becoming obsolete for me. Just because you say it is doesn't mean it is true. I mean come on! They can play all the new games just fine. It isn't choppy. It is pretty damn smooth. And literally I have $110 in my checkings account right right now. I'm not rich like you guys... I can't go around spending even $120 on a graphics card right now. And they aren't that old. Sheesh, unlike some people around here I can't update my computer every month. :mad:

Maybe once you get into college you would understand why. I have a thousand other expenses, not to mention bills. Damn cable TV is expensive too. But there is only one company in the area.