AMD Processors Question

yooperjusty

Beta member
Hello Everyone,
I am a beginner in the computer world, and am trying to learn more and more. I am looking at building a new computer, bit by bit, and had a question for all of you about the lineup of AMD processors. I like AMD and want to use an AMD processor, but, I want to know the difference between the different kinds (or bases I guess is what they are); Opteron, XP, Bertone, 64, etc.
I know I should research, but, I figured a computer forum would be the best place to start!
Thanks!

Well the opteron is a 64 bit based cpu that is used mainly for servers or wokstations!! Th Athlon 64 is the main desktop cpu, the best for gaming, not suprisingly this is also 64 bit, some of the athlon 64 core are: winchester, newcastle, venice, clawhammer!! The old athlon xp still uses old 32 bit technology, these are been phased out because of the new developments in tech!! Some of the core for the xp range are: BArton, PAlamino, Thouroughbred!!! I'm not entirely sure wat a bertone is, but I think ur reffering to the BArton core of the Athlon xp!! This core supports 512kb l2 cache and dual ddr support, the highest they took this core (stock) was 2.2ghz! The 64 range is definitely the way to go, with dual cores been developed and faster memory in production!!! However do not go with the socket 754 64 bit athlon as this is also been phased out in favour of the socket 939 cpu's!!

also theres the sempron...spose ya could call it the xp's twin brother, but has half the cache and is more of a value proccy (bit cheaper than the xp)

...and if you can still find them around, the Duron. The Sempron took over what the Duron provided as the budget CPU lineup. Dirt cheap now, but I wouldn't even bother with it.

Thank you for the quick replies,
So, the 64 bit systems each have their own advantages for different purposes?