Motherboard Switching!

Jamxx

Fully Optimized
Hello. I'm pretty new to computer hardware installation and etcetera, and I need some help!

I am strongly thinking about upgrading to a new motherboard, to support a new and faster processor. Since I have no prior knowledge of this subject, I need someone who can tell me exactly what I need to know, like the form factor, and other specifications. Also, if anyone has any product that they have or would recommend, that would be helpful. I started to look at buying a new processor, took in a lot of information, and realized that my processor was a P4 Williamette, and the maximum processor speed I can get is 1.8 GHz, and I have a 1.5 GHz, so I didn't think it worth the money. What would be the price range of upgrading to a good motherboard and good processor? What kind of motherboard do you recommend I get for what processor? I really need some help here.

Thanks!
-Jamxx

form factor go with atx. what kind of budget you got? for processor go with amd! (socket 939) these are more expensive than intel trash but worth it. really need to know how much money your looking to spend before can really help.

Jay

if ur changing mobo and cpu, u will needa copy of windows, what ever ver u have, then u will ahve to format ur hdd, specially if ur comp that ur upping is a compaq/dell/ what ever, i would go with a socket 939 A64 cpu,
the 3200+ is very ideal (make sure it is winchester newegg.com will list if it is or not)
then for the mobo, i would go with the Nforce 4 ultra sli mobos, but you may need to get new gfx card taht supports pci-E if ur going to do that,if you dont want to do that go with the gigabyte k8n 939 ultra or the msi k8n neo 2 platinum

Well, my budget is around $250, but I could go to about $300 if I had to. Don't you have to have a specific form factor to match the same one your motherboard is for it to fit in the computer correctly? I'll list my computer specs, just to be clearer.