How do you know all this stuff?

NOFX

Fully Optimized
Hey,
Im an absolute noob, thats why I hang around the social forum mainly. But I would love to increase my knowledge about computers. I tried my hand at VB this year at school. I had no idea, I got my friend to email me all the work and I spent the class time playing CS on the wireless network instead.
I signed onto this forum mainly to get help, but I would love to be able to help people as well. So any tips on increasing my knowledge would be very appreciated.
Cheers :)

Almost everything I know I learned own my own. I started by putting computers together, I then found out I liked it enough to make it a career. So, I pounded on mom and pop computer stores hoping someone would hire me as a salesman since I was pretty familiar with hardware. It worked, and that let me get my foot in the door to where I could sneak back into the tech room and the owner let me troubleshoot a little. At first, I sucked...bad, didn't have a clue. But, I eventually got good at everything, so I ended up running the whole shop. Now, I am currently still working in the same shop, plus I have my own business on the side and will be opening my own shop at the first of next year. If you are really interested, just build a few computers, tear apart everything you can, try to get yourself in a small shop like I did, even if it means working for nothing. Man, I'm here to tell you, I have done it all. Warehouse work, frame carpenter, gutter hanging, ops manager for a huge corp. But nothing beats going into work smiling because you LOVE what you do!
Good luck,
Scott.

I learned from doing. The best way to learn is actually "doing" what you want to learn on the computer.

Like for an example... if you want to learn more about firewalls, then dl a firewall and mess around with it. Read up on it a bit.

Now, how I learned about computer hardware was.....