connecting routers???

delsol_ca

Solid State Member
hey guyz.. newbie here... first post - hope some of u can help
Ok i got 2 questions... but first here is my setup @ work: i got like 14 computers.. all running xp pro ... 8 of them on a router and then the other 6 on another router.

question 1:

is there a way to connect all these computers together? somehow joining the 2 routers so they can share the same printer and stuff...?

question 2:

secondly.. i have a server (win 2k) which hosts our website .. its connected to the router that has the 6 computers (no printer)
i wana format all the 14 computers and create individual accounts for xp so users can have individual usernames and passwords and their info can be saved on the server... is that possible?

thanks in advance

Morpheus said:
Question 2
Yes you can

lol... can u tell me how?
i gata meet a deadline to get this office rolling by this saturday
i'm a newbie here.. n e help is appriciated

thanks in advance

lol. if you get a up to date wireless modem/router, you can have all your pc's on there via wireless. each pc needs a wirless lan card as well to get them to work. (no cables) you can also do the came to the printers i think. also it looks like you want to network them to a server. so what you do is

1 server
I
I
wireless router-----------
I I I I I I I
I I I I I I I
loads of pc's printers

Well I am not sure I just know you can try this. Go to Start->settings->control panel->user accounts but I am not sure I think that might be just for your computer sorry I can't be anymore help

make accts on teh server by going to active directory users and computers (under admin tools). should be option to create new user or computer.

1)

Yes you can do this, Here's a suggestion. Setup the networks as follows.

Network1 - Setup your router1 to have the IP address 192.168.1.1
Network2 - Setup your Router2 to have the IP address 192.168.2.1