AMD XP 2500 overheating

doughsthoughts

Solid State Member
ok, ill start this off. im not a newbie to the hardware world of computers.

I have an ASUS a7v8x motherboard, AMD xp 2500 (barton core),antec silver thermal paste, 70mm thermal take processor fan, 768 mb of pc3200, geforce 4 mx 440 64 mb, 1 maxtor serial ata hard drive 160 gig, 2 maxtor UATA 133 40 gigs in raid 0.

the system has been running fine now for about 2 years, i rarely have issues with it. all thou recently the average CPU tempature is SKY rocketing.. system idle 0 to 1 % cpu usage, is 111ºF . 100% cpu usage raises the tempature to around 120 to 122ºF. It has been making me extremly nervous and cautious of pushing the system for long periods of time. the processor fan seems to be @ a strong 3000 rpm's from the day i put it together till now..

the system is aired out alot, its not dust or air flow restriction. i clean it quite frequently. i also have all rounded cables and have gone thru serious cable management. cables ties / loom . its very tidy and managed.

ill admit i noticed the problem after i ran seti for about a month.. (for those who dont know , seti uses any CPU idle time too process large amounts of data. soo my computer ran @ 100% usage )for about 450 hours straight.. before i noticed the MAX TEMP too raise..

the systems MAX temp before SETI was around 105º it ran at that tempature for about 18 months. after the month of seti, i noticed its base temp raising more and more, it held at 111º for awhile. mainly cuz i removed seti from my system and only stressed it here and there.. now i notice any time i crank up a 3d game, or use 100% cpu process, the tempature seems to be raising little by little over the last week or 2. the max now is 122ºF.