Dvd-rw

FuRgy

BSOD
Hey,
I am going to buy a DVD-RW Drive...I have no knowledge in buying DVD-RW drive's so if you guys could help me I'd be grateful. First of all what is the average/good proce for an 8X DVD-R/RW Drive??? And second of all I have successfully copied a DVD to my hardrive using DVD Shrink. I have no DVD-RW Drive at the moment and when I open Nero there is no options for me saying Burn A DVD. There is Burn a Video CD, MP3 Disc etc etc. Is this because I have not got the DVD-R/RW Drive installed on my computer....because I dont want to spend money on a DVD-RW drive and then find out that it does not even work. I would be very :(. I know this isn't a CD/DVD forum but as you guys are soooo clever, I was thinking you would know something??
Thanks to anyone who reads/replies.

the best thing to do in check out consumer report.com
i think that's it...they rate the top 10 of all sorts of things including dvd drives...

How much should a good DVD-RW Drive 8X cost though?? I don't want to get ripped of or anything :(

Make sure you get one that does all formats. They are relatively cheap now that dual layer has came out.

Look for one that say DVD +-R +-RW. That way you will be able to use all formats.

Ok, Thanks Nemisis, Airox...I was looking in a shop earlier on today and it was £50 for 8X Speed....I'm quite sure it had all formats written on it...But I don;t remember if it was sony....I will look some time this week.
Thanks again...Also does anyone nkow about the nero Problem...I have read guides on how to copy DVD's to disk using nero---
http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/burning_dvd_with_nero.cfm
However, It says there that I have to create a new compilation and make sure the tab says DVD not CD.
" Choose DVD from the drop-down menu, and select DVD-Video as the compilation type. Click the New button to open up the DVD layout view"