Problems Spy/Addware Can't clear

Felix1

Beta member
Hi, firstly, this is the first time I have ever posted on a forum, so don't know if I'm doing this right, I apologise if its not, or not the right p[lace for this. I have got Adware 6.0 and Spybot S&D as well as AVG Virus Checker, which was a free download and damn good, so far. However, after doing all of this, the "BACK" button has been permanently disabled on my IE browser and cannot get this back.
Secondly. The AVG Virus Checker has also found a virus, and gives me the exact address, but I cannot find this on the hard drive anywhere to remove it as the Anti-Virus Checker states it cannot be removed. The address for this:

C:\WINDOWS\Temporary Internet Files\CONTENT.IE5\W7Z76KPP\e2[1].hta.

I have deleted the Temp Internet Files, but the virus is still there. Sorry about the length of this but I'm not a computer expert and really so sick of this virus/ad/spy software crap messing up my computer?
Finally, isn't there anyway legally that the companies that use these viruses without your permission can be prosecuted? Thanks in advance.

Try going online to housecall.trendmicro.com and using their free online scanner. That will hopefully tell you the real alias of the virus (if it exists), and then you can find removal instructions. Also, most of the viruses around are not created by companies (though some are), and the people that create them are often caught.

Itsme

Hi “Itsme”, thanks for the tip, however, I have just tried this, but this doesn't even tell me there is a virus/ad/spyware, I'll keep looking for other ways to remove it, but thanks.

if you can find out what its name is, then I'd be able to help more, but until then theres not much else I can do. Just look around online for other virus scvanners - like mcafee.

Good luck
Itsme

You gave us the location of the virus -- does your anti-virus system tell you the name?

Did you make sure there are no hidden files in the indicated directory?