Batch File Help ASAP

sean82007

Baseband Member
Alright Im trying to create a program that deletes all the .mp3 files in a certain folder. But whenever I typed the location, it says could not find the specified location or file. Heres the code.

@ECHO OFF
PAUSE
ECHO This deletes all your mp3 files within ur My Documents folder!!!
PAUSE
ECHO Press any key to continue.....
C:\My Documents\My Music
ECHO Deleting Files
del *.mp3
ECHO Your computer is now clean from mp3's!!!
PAUSE

I just started coding with batch about 2 days ago. But I need help please. Could u help me.

---- This is what it says when I execute the prog!!! ----

Press any key to continue ...
This deletes all of your mp3 files within ur My Documents folder!!!
Press any key to continue...
Press any key to continue.....
'C:\My' is not recoginized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file
Deleting Files
Could Not Find C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\*.mp3
Your computer is now clean from mp3's!!!
Press any key to continue...

--- Please Help ---

I think the problem is you are changing directories in one line.
Because of the space in the my documents folder you are effectivly trying to run c:\my as if it were an excecutable file (c:\my.exe).
you could try changing the line
c:\my documents\my music
to
c:
cd my documents\my music\

another thing you might be interested in would be changing the line del *.mp3 to
del *.mp3 > deletedmp3s.txt
This will create a new text file detailing all the files deleted.
(hope this helps)

You may have already checked, but I'll tell you this to make sure:
Is your My Documents folder in your C: drive? or is it in something like c:\documents and settings\administrator\my documents\my music

Also, the other problem could be with the [space]'s in the address. You can try putting in what root said above, though I haven't tried that. Also, you can try something like C:\DOCUME~1\, but I don't know what the other folders are called after that