Video card help

Denier-of-Soup

In Runtime
Hey everyone,

I'm new to these forums. I found these because I really need some help with a new video card I got. It's a Radeon 9200 128mb, AGP 4x and 8x. The problem is that my motherboard gets until 2x only. I heard that all 8x video cards are backwards compatible, so I just wanted to make sure, will it work on mine?

Thanks in advance,

Denier-of-Soup

i think it will... but i'm no expert. a good idea is to ask the person/company you got the card from.

Denier-of-Soup said:
Hey everyone,

I'm new to these forums. I found these because I really need some help with a new video card I got. It's a Radeon 9200 128mb, AGP 4x and 8x. The problem is that my motherboard gets until 2x only. I heard that all 8x video cards are backwards compatible, so I just wanted to make sure, will it work on mine?

Thanks in advance,

Denier-of-Soup
Yes it will,but i think a mbd/cpu upgrade is next,or should have been your first upgrade.

Yes it will work.

As for the installation, follow these instructions.

-Uninstall every driver on your system. So the only driver loaded is the genric VGA driver.
-Install the new video card.
-When you startup the computer the first time. Say NO or Don't install windows drivers.
-Ensure that ALL of the old video card drivers are removed.
-Install the ATI drivers. I usually never install graphic card drivers from the CD, because they are usually a couple of revs behind the lastest version. Download the newest driver and run the install.
-Follow the instructions on the screen and that's it.

killerdoberman said:
Yes it will work.

As for the installation, follow these instructions.

-Uninstall every driver on your system. So the only driver loaded is the genric VGA driver.
-Install the new video card.
-When you startup the computer the first time. Say NO or Don't install windows drivers.
-Ensure that ALL of the old video card drivers are removed.